© Reuters. U.S. Futures pointed to a flat opening bell on Wall Street. © Reuters. U.S. Futures pointed to a flat opening bell on Wall Street.

Investing.com – U.S. futures were mostly flat on Wednesday, as Canada began negotiations to join the U.S. and Mexico’s new trade deal.

The was flat at 2,899.25 as of 6:50 AM ET (10:50 GMT) while was down 12 points, or 0.05%, to 26,073.0. Meanwhile tech heavy increased 11 points, or 0.15%,to 7,589.0.

Trade is expected to be thin this week ahead of the Labor Day weekend.

Investors remained cautious ahead of a upcoming deadline in Sino-U.S. trade disputes as a trade deal between the U.S. and Mexico was underway.

Canada’s Foreign Minister Chrystia Freeland is in Washington to following Monday’s deal between the United States and Mexico. U.S. President Donald Trump has said he will levy tariffs on Canada if they do not agree with the new trade deal.

Amazon.com (NASDAQ:) was among the top gainers in pre-market trading, surging 1.30% amid news that it is . Meanwhile semiconductor Micron rose 0.31% while Netflix (NASDAQ:) inched up 0.27%.

Elsewhere British American Tobacco (NYSE:) fell 0.96% while Cisco (NASDAQ:) fell 0.28%.

In economic news, the second estimate of second quarter comes out at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT) while comes out at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT).

In Europe stocks were mostly down. Germany’s fell 7 points or 0.06% while in France the was flat and in London the was down 50 points or 0.67%. Meanwhile the pan-European decreased 12 points or 0.35% while Spain’s slumped 73 points or 0.77%.

In commodities, fell 0.40% to $1,209.50 a troy ounce while futures increased 0.36% to $68.78 a barrel. The which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, rose 0.13% to 94.75.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.